Bookish Buzz: 2017 Superlatives / by Madeleine Riley

bookish buzz-logo (1).png

Recently, my friend Amy (@thebumblingbookworm) and I teamed up for a few Instagram Live videos in which we talked about living a bookish lifestyle. Amy and I are friends in real life and we have so much fun when we get to chat about books with fellow bookworms. After our most recent video, we got feedback from readers who weren't able to catch the live feed before it expired, so we put together a quick summary with a list of all the books we talked about so that you can still see which books made our list of 2017 Superlatives!

Amy and I are planning to make our Bookish Buzz videos a monthly occurrence on Instagram Live, and our next one will take place on Saturday, January 20th at 12pm EST, so make sure to mark your calendars if you'd like to join us to talk about books we're looking forward to reading in 2018.


2017 reading superlatives

bIGGEST FLOP

(A book that we expected to love but totally disappointed us.)

Amy's Pick: A Secret History of Witches by Louisa Morgan

My Pick: Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva

BIGGEST TWIST

(A book that surprised us at every turn!)

Amy's Pick: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

My Pick: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

NEW FAVORITE SERIES

(A series we just started reading this year that we can't wait to read more of in 2018!)

Amy's Pick: The Inspector Gamache Mysteries by Louise Penny

(Read these in order! Start with Still Life. Penny hits her stride with this series in book four and there are currently thirteen books in this series.)

My Pick: The Lady Sherlock Mysteries by Sherry Thomas

(Also read these in order! Start with A Study in Scarlet Womenthen read A Conspiracy in Belgravia.)

BOOKS WE REALLY, REALLY DIDN'T LIKE

(Aka, books we actually hated.)

Amy's Pick: The Night Circus by Erin Morgernstern

My Pick: Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

BOOKS THAT PLAYED MIND TRICKS ON US

(Are you real? Am I real? What is even real?)

Amy's Pick (also endorsed by me): Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

My Pick: Slade House by David Mitchell

BEST AUDIOBOOKS

(Amy has yet to jump on the audio bandwagon, so these are both my picks, and I can assure you, both have fantastic narrators.)

A Quiet Life in the Country (and the entire Lady Hardcastle Mystery series) by T.E. Kinsey

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

FAVORITE BOOK OF THE YEAR

(We loved these books.)

Amy's Pick: Last Christmas in Paris: A Novel of WWI by Heather Webb and Hazel Gaynor

My Pick: Castle of Water by Dane Huckelbridge

FAVORITE DBC PICK FROM 2017

Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig

(Also, shout out to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, my second favorite.)

OTHER BOOKS MENTIONED

The Comet Seekers (My Christmas gift to Amy this year.)

Britt-Marie Was Here, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorryand Beartown by Fredrik Backman (If you loved A Man Called Ove).

 The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann ShafferAll The Light We Cannot See by Anthony DoerrThe Alice Network by Kate Quinn, and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (read-alikes for Last Christmas in Paris).

The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry and Exquisite by Sarah Stovell (books where you don't know which characters to trust). 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber (my recommendation to Amy as an alternative to The Night Circus).

Origin by Dan Brown (a book I was reading on my trip to Colorado. I gave it four stars, worth it for Dan Brown fans to pick up!)

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden (another book that Amy loved this year -- she says make sure to read the glossary in the back).

The Cottingley Secret and A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor (by one of the authors of Last Christmas in Paris).


What were some of your superlative books in 2017? Tell us below!